Your Choice. Focus on Fixing What’s Wrong? Or Appreciate What’s Right?

A friend sent me the link to this video, which offers a clear example of the difference between how we see ourselves, and how others see us.

 

So if you’ve watched the video, would you say this applies to you? Are you in the habit of describing yourself to yourself in a way that’s harsh and unflattering? Have you ever stopped to think that maybe, just maybe, you might be wrong about that? Do you think you would be willing to change?

Isn’t it time to get into the habit of treating ourselves more lovingly? Being kind to ourselves is Love Applied, and it’s okay to do that.

Comments

  1. Cried my eyes out watching this. (Now I’ve got to go and re-apply my eye make-p. LOL) So beautiful. So bittersweet. And so truthful.

    • melinda! says:

      I know, Lisa, me too. As I watched it I kept seeing myself in the chair, describing myself to the artist and I wondered: would I have done the same thing they did in describing themselves more harshly than others saw them? At first I said ‘no’, and then I realized that I often look in the mirror and am hard on myself for the wrinkles and lines I see. It woke me up a little bit to realize that I can become hypnotized into being self-critical, despite really working at changing that:-)

Leave a Reply

