Ten Things I Wish I Knew at 18

One of my cousins just graduated high school and I had been wondering what to get her as a gift. Of course, the usual things like money, or a nice piece of jewelry went through my mind. I wanted to do those things, but also wanted to write something to her that let her know how special it was to me to watch her grow up through the years.

I remember how I felt at age 18, feeling mature in certain areas but not in others. And trying desperately to pretend that I knew what was going on and fooling nobody. I didn’t yet realize that at 18, you’re only partially baked and that’s just the way you are supposed to be at that age. I decided to share with my Lil Cousine what I would have wanted to know when I was 18. And now I’m sharing it with you.

The first thing I wish I had realized – just how wonderful I was. Not in an arrogant “look at m, I’m so cool/smart” but that I was wonderful just because I was wonderful. I kept thinking there was always something to fix. Boy was I wrong! There is always something to learn, but there was nothing wrong with me, nothing that needed ‘fixing’. I wasn’t broken just because I didn’t always do things perfectly. Part of being young and human is making mistakes. Part of being older and human is making mistakes too 🙂 We are born magnificent and somehow, through all the criticisms we receive while growing up we begin to lose sight of that. So, here is your reminder from me. You are wonderful and magnificent.

What would you have wanted your 18 year old self to know?

Leave a Reply

